I will warn those who don’t know what a Diva cup is….it is a product for women to use during their menstrual cycle.

I will wait for a moment for those who are squeamish or got to this page by mistake to click the X at the top right šŸ˜‰

 

Waiting…..

Okay, hopefully by now, those who are still reading are legitimately interested in learning about my opinions on the Diva Cup.

To start off with, I was very hesitant to do this. I have 2 kiddos, and my periods after my 2nd born have been less than predictable. Usually they would happen anywhere from 14-25 days apart and the first 3 days were VERY heavy. I literally would hope that whenever I started that I had the first 2 days to sit at home. If I had to get up from a seated/laying position I would feel a “gush” and knew I needed to hurry to the restroom. These reasons among others are the reasons I was so hesitant.

A few months ago I decided to go to Diva Cups website and read up on them some. Of course I expected to get some biased info, since they are trying to sell a product after all ;). I was most interested in sizing, since I felt like it would be difficult for a piece of silicone to work equally for all bodies. I found they offer 2 sizes, Size 1 is for women who have not given birth before and are under 30. Size 2 is recommend for women over 30, or women who have given birth (either vaginally or via c-section). I was still a bit hesitant since I do have 2 kiddos, but neither were born vaginally due to lack of space.

Still, I ordered size 2 and kept my fingers crossed. I’m not going to lie, when that little piece of silicone came in the mail I was anxious for my monthly visitor to come so I could give it a try. Approx 10 days later Aunt Flo arrived. I will be honest, there is a learning curve. I figured I would pop it in and be good, it took me a couple minutes to get it folded (I do the rolled one), and read, then reread the instructions before attempting insertion. I am glad that I had some dear friends who I could vocalize my hesitancy and they were behind me 100000% since they also use this little product.

I will say that I am more comfortable with my body than ever before, and insertion gets easier every time. You will learn how to insert, how it feels when inserted and opened correctly, and how to remove. Some ask about how you don’t splash blood all over when removing, I have yet to have that happen….even with my heaviest days.

Let me say, I was floored. I am someone who has never been able to use tampons because I just leak out of them. If I wore a tampon I also had to wear a pad or liner. Swimming was a no-go if it was that time of the month. Now, that is no longer an issue. Remember those issues with gushing and inability (or unwillingness) to do anything for the first few days of my periods?? No more!! I was turned into a believer within the first cycle of using it.

Yes you have to clean it, yes you may want to lock the door behind you unless you want your kiddos to walk in and wonder what you’re doing with that little piece of silicone. Yes give yourself time, and breathe a minute before trying to insert it. After my first cycle I felt like I could actually do this. I have now gone on road trips while not having to worry about running to the bathroom every hour. I can quickly clean the cup and reinsert without much fanfare.

I feel like this product is not getting the chance it should. Yes it’s something many people are hesitant about trying out (myself included). Please let me give you a bit of advice. TRY IT!! It’s amazing, my cycles have become more regulated, I don’t have the “gushing” issues from before, and I can live my life. I actually FORGOT I was on my period for a while the last cycle I used it. Last month I even bagged up a bunch of my pads and tampons I had stashed under my sink and donated it to a group who makes bags for homeless women.

Some people may be asking how long these last, from what I found eventually the silicone can break down, but it’s important to keep them clean. Diva Cup does sell a product called “Diva Wash” which I have not yet had a chance to try, but washing it thoroughly in a sink and boiling after the end of a cycle has been working great for me.

I would LOVE to hear feedback from YOU!!! Have you tried Diva Cup? Why or why not? What’s holding you back if you haven’t yet? What do you LOVE if you have? What would be a piece of advice that you would give a Diva Cup virgin?
Ready to take the leap?? Go to Diva Cup’s website and let me know what product you are most excited to try!! Now’s the time, you are here, take the leap.

